Where is my John Wayne? Where is my prairie son? Where is my happy ending? Where have all the small dogs gone?

September 27, 2007 at 11:43 am 4 comments

fatsmalldog.jpg

Pup City

A hydrant painted in the likeness of an American flag was pulled from a dog park after complaints that it is disrespectful to let dogs use it to take care of business. The hydrant was added as a tribute to Hondo, a police dog killed 10 years ago chasing a suspect. Louanne Douris, a retired U.S. foreign services officer wrote, “that gallant dog must be turning in his grave at the thought of the flag being desecrated every time a dog pees on that hydrant!” God bless America!

Chicago police were called upon, when a pup named Miss Pickles took a dip in the Chicago river. Miss Pickles had been out walking with her owner when she went off to chase something and ended up in the river paddling around for more than 15 minutes before being pulled to safety. Does anyone else agree that Miss Pickles is the most magical name ever? Henceforth, all dogs shall swim freely and carry the name of Pickles. “Get back here Baby Pickles, Jr., III.” I like the sound of that.

Be on the lookout for small horses being passed off for large dogs.

I’ll drink to that:

 

chihuahua_smalldog.jpg

via Chihuahua Page

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:
FDA Warns Dog Owners on Chicken Treats
Police seize nearly 250 dogs from alleged ‘puppy mill’
Guide Dogs for the Blind Collaborates in Canine Cancer Genome Project
Dogs found in dumpster brought to Portland
Family, dog safe after house fills with smoke
Puppy set on fire in Michigan City
Puppy dies in owner’s arms after hit-and-run

Entry filed under: dog, dogs, puppy, SEPTEMBER 2007, small dog, small dogs. Tags: , , , .

I closed my eyes to see your sweet face, a coke can beside me, I slept in hell. Small dogs can be so deceiving when they love you well. Why am I smiling? And why do I sing? Why does September seem sunny as spring? Why do I get up each morning and start, happy and head up with small dogs in my heart? Why is each new task a trifle to do? Because I am living a life full of you.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  September 27, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    My heart goes out to Miss Pickles and her family at this difficult time.

    Reply
  • 2. smalldogarific  |  September 27, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Dear Stephanie:

    Do you suspect this has anything to do with Sweet Pickles?

    Best,
    Smalldogarific

    Reply
  • 3. Stephanie  |  September 28, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Dear SD,

    Between you, me, and the US Police Force, I think we ALL know it has something to do with Sweet Pickles. A dark day for small dogs everywhere.

    Sincerely,
    Stephanie

    Reply
  • 4. smalldogarific  |  September 28, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Dear Stephanie:

    I think this is what we in the business call a “Sweet Pickles” conspiracy.

    Best,
    Smalldogarific

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,294

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

