I need a small dog who’ll take a chance, on a love that burns hot enough to last. So when the night falls, my lonely heart calls.

July 23, 2007 at 9:34 am 5 comments

164340543_616fdc863d.jpg
via Costume Dogs (c/o Pastel Ginger’s Flickr Page)

Congrats to Zoey, a 5-pound Chihuahua, who saved a baby from being bitten from a rattle snake. “The dog required treatment and for a time it appeared she might not survive. Now she prances about.” Prance on you crazy small dog, prance on.

This isn’t small dog specific, but just a few days ago I discovered the wonderful world of canine freestyle. This may be one of the most amazing discoveries of 2007. How is it that this sport escaped my knowledge up until now? At a recent freestyle performance at the Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows, there are claims that a 14-year old Golden Retriever named Rookie, came out of retirement, and wowed the audience, even bringing tears to the eyes of some, “as she playfully went through her crossover steps, placing paw-over-paw in her routine.” Apparently, Rookie’s owner Carolyn Scott “chose the maudlin (Everything I Do) I Do It for You to make it easier for her aging partner [Rookie] to keep up.” If I could be a fly on the wall for Rookie’s practice sessions. You can view a somewhat dated video of Rookie and Carolyn performing to You’re the One That I Want.

The day also “included a tie-wearing dog who carried a pink purse and a Western-clad pooch whose sequined bandana flashed as the dog spun through full-circle turns.” I don’t want to give away too many details, but Buster and I are presently rehearsing a rousing version of Janet Jackson’s Nasty.

Again, not exactly a small dog, but here’s another particularly skilled golden retriever performing to Move It.

If you are heading to New York City, check out this NY Times article for some small dog friendly locations. New York is for lovers, not haters.

I’ll drink to that:

cup.jpg
via Pup City

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:
Money-hungry dog
China cracks down on rabid dog menace
Police sued over shooting of dog
Dog ice cream targets Austrian canines
Dogs help out nursing homes
Proud pets on parade at annual Dog-A-Thon

Entry filed under: Canine Freestyle, dog, dogs, New York, Rattle Snake, small dog, small dogs, unicorn.

Well, I’m running down the road, tryin’ to loosen my load. I’ve got seven small dogs on my mind, four that wanna own me, two that wanna stone me, one says she’s a friend of mine. Take it easy, take it easy. Here comes the rain again, raining in my head like a tragedy, tearing me apart like a new emotion. I want to breathe in the open wind, I want to kiss like small dogs do, I want to dive into your ocean. Is it raining with you?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  July 23, 2007 at 11:04 am

    Do you think you’ll ever dance with a dog?

    Reply
  • 2. smalldogarific  |  July 23, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Dear Stephanie:

    That’s like asking “Smalldogarific, will you ever win the lottery?” I think we all know the answer to that one. Of course!

    Best,
    Smalldogarific

    Reply
  • 3. Rhea  |  July 23, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    I loved hearing about that dog that fought off the snake. I have a small dog but maybe not small by your standards. He’s a 12.5 pound Lhasa apso. I love him dearly!

    Reply
  • 4. smalldogarific  |  July 24, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Dear Rhea:

    I too love hearing about small dog acts of heroism.

    In my professional opinion, a 12.5 pound Lhasa is certainly small enough to meet my small dog standards.

    Best,
    Smalldogarific

    Reply
  • 5. Rhea  |  July 24, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Oh, goody! He’s almost always the smallest guy in the dog park!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,165

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

