This is a valley of ashes – a fantastic farm where small dogs grow like wheat…

June 15, 2007 at 12:38 pm Leave a comment

glasses.jpg
via O Amigo Secreto

Matthew sent me this frightening article on dog genetics from the NY Times: As Breeders Test DNA, Dogs Become Guinea Pigs. I wish I could scoop at the whippets into my arms and take them away from this cruel, mean world. Oh whippets, “Come here quick!.” cried Daisy at the window. The rain was still falling, but the darkness had parted in the west, and there was a pink and golden billow of foamy clouds above the sea. “Look at that,.” she whispered, and then after a moment: “I’d like to just get one of those pink clouds and put you in it and push you around..” I tried to go then, but they wouldn’t hear of it; perhaps my presence made them feel more satisfactorily alone.”

The article proposes, “next up, geneticists say, could be…dogs that cock their heads endearingly when they look at you.” Can we engineer a gene that gets rid of the stupid people carrying out this work? How about this gem, ” Mary-Jo Winters, a poodle breeder, uses a DNA coat-color test to ensure there are no genes for brown fur lurking beneath her black-and-cream-colored dogs. ‘I don’t want brown,’ said Ms. Winters. ‘It’s not my thing.’” What is your thing Ms. Winters? Do tell.

I’ll drink to that:

dogcup.jpg
via Pup City

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:

Dog fights equal horse races

Man who fed puppy to boa constrictor gets 90 days in jail

Police nab suspected puppy-snatcher

Puppy who lost ears finds open arms

Missing puppy was to be therapy dog for burn victims in Flint

Entry filed under: dog, dogs, great gatsby, JUNE 2007, puppy, small dogs.

The small dog days of summer What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of the small dog and the feeble mentality of the average adult.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,165

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

