Oh where, oh where, did my small dog go

June 13, 2007 at 11:41 am 4 comments

grrarrrhhh.jpeg
via Weatherby (Thanks Matthew!)

Hello dear Smalldogarific readers. It has been some time since you last heard from me. I never did find the time to post on here. In my absence, many of you wrote in and shared some pretty amazing small dog photos and stories, I truly appreciate each and every email. I didn’t have time to respond to most individually, so I will say it on here now, thank you.

My dear Minnie’s birthday was just a few days ago, she would have been 16 years old, that’s if I am doing the small dog math correctly, which I think i actually may not be. It got me thinking about the loss of a beloved and how people find closure, I hope you don’t mind the slight divergence here. In my experiences with loss, my own and other people’s, the processes of finding closure are all so individual and unique. Even two people’s experiences with losing the very same small dog, or ending the same exact relationship, are generally not the same. Nana for example, talked constantly about Minnie after her death but only for a short period of time. She now solely funnels her love and affection in to caring for Buster. At first, her affection for Buster seemed forced and disconnected, but now, I recognize that this was her way of coping, her way of finding closure. For her, she couldn’t just let that affection linger on with the same intensity. She had to move on and turn her mourning into remembering, she couldn’t allow herself to perpetually grieve and experience losing Minnie so intensely from day to day, otherwise, she’d be paralyzed, isolated and driven mad focusing on an irreversible loss. Otherwise, she’d go on living in the past and idealizing her love for a small dog that no longer existed. Anyway, I am not sure where I am going with this, but here’s to moving on and moving forward. Cin cin.

Apparently, I missed the Fiesta Pooch Parade. Luckily, Chrissy sent me this photo, which I must say, is one of the most amazing things I’ve seen in a long time.

balloons5.jpg
via SF Gate

That was “one of the most amazing things I have seen in a long time” because this is actually THE most amazing thing I have ever seen. I can’t seem to get the video to appear directly on this page, so, you will have to click on the link. Believe me, it’s WELL WORTH IT! Please click! That little one at the end needs some work, otherwise, she’s out of the troupe! This could come in handy for helping me push my second cart at the grocery store. Thank you Jeanne for sharing this. Your sister’s internet sleuthing has uncovered a real gem.

I’ll drink to that:

littledog.jpg
via Top Dog Ranch

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:

Dog, Monkey Make Unusual Buddies

How to stop a dog fight safely

Tiny dogs, big problems

How Much Does Dog Size Matter

Running Dogs of the Upper East Side

Confusion over whether small dog killed by coyote or other animal

Small dog with big bark saves fire victim’s life

Dog park makes room for the little guys

Entry filed under: coping, dog, dogs, finding closure, JUNE 2007, loss, puppy, small dogs.

Small dog has left the building The small dog days of summer

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hope  |  June 13, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Truly two amazing items. I’ve missed you!

    Reply
  • 2. smalldogarific  |  June 13, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Thanks Hope! Smalldogarific updates shall now take place on a pretty regular basis. Let the small dogs begin.

    Reply
  • 3. Bill Z  |  June 14, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Ummmm …………… why does it take 6 dogs to push one cart ?

    You better get these dogs on some kind of weight training program.

    Max just barked and nodded his head in agreement.

    WRZ

    http://profiles.yahoo.com/CCNJdogpark

    Reply
  • 4. smalldogarific  |  June 14, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    The real question, how many small dogs does it take to screw in a light bulb?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,165

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

