When I’m all alone it’s the best way to be. When I’m by myself no small dogs can say goodbye.

April 4, 2007 at 9:34 am 4 comments

furcedes.jpg
via Veggie Pup

There is yet another act of dog heroism in the news today! This time Taca, an 11-year old Chihuahua came to his owner, 80-year old Lillian Davis’ rescue after she blacked out in the middle of the night and required medical care. Courageous little Taca alerted her husband William, who was sleeping in his own room ACROSS THE HALL. They dashed to the scene, found Lillian face down on the floor and alerted 911. Way to go Taca! Taca has uncovered an interesting, and perhaps controversial topic of discussion…older couples and separate bedrooms. I am all in favor of this phenomenon, old or young. Growing up, my Aunt Crosia and Uncle Frank slept in separate twin beds in their summer bedroom, because it was too hot in their front bedroom during the warmer months. Not quite the same thing as separate bedrooms but totally understandable, people do what they have to do in order to get by. Personally, I have a great appreciation for having access to private and personal space and think this would be and essential component for long term cohabitation with another person. How do you weigh in?

Speaking of corageous pups. Wheeled cart helps puppy gain mobility. Found along the roadside, Trooper was born with backwards elbows and learned to cope by walking on his back legs and front elbows. After a community rallied to raise money for his transporation cart, he’s now up and running. I love stories like this.

wheeledpup.jpg
via The Record Herald

I’ll drink to that:

cupped.jpg
via Terrific Pets

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:

3 Points woman found guilty of animal cruelty

Wolf in Juneau, Alaska snatches dog and disappears

Poached puppy returned; arrests to come

Stolen Puppy Reunited With Sister

Wheeled cart helps puppy gain mobility

Entry filed under: APRIL 2007.

I got 99 problems, but a small dog ain’t one. When things go wrong, I sing along, it is the nature of the business. But you’re not here to make my small dogs more sincere.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth  |  April 4, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Smalldogarific-
    I could not help but chime in after this post. I do not want to stray too much from celebrating the beauty and triumphs of small dogs but since everything is relative I suppose I will allow myself this tiny indulgence. I agree with you 100% that seperate bedrooms are a necessity. I have long held this opinion much to the consternation of others(mainly those I have dated). I feel it is often a misunderstood perspective. Seperate bedrooms to me does not mean that you never sleep in the same bedroom as your partner but rather you have the option to enter into your own personal sanctuary. No two people are identical in nature and habit therefor what ends up happening is one person’s will is often bent to fit the others.(example: you like to sleep with your beloved small dog while your partner detests dogs sleeping on the bed) This ultimately ends in resentment. Your thoughts?
    I recently read an article based on a survey done by The National Home Builders(not an exact quote) that stated by the year 2015 60% of newly built homes would contain two master bedrooms and that the option of seperate bedrooms has improved marriages. Perhaps we are just ahead of our time.

    Reply
  • 2. Joan  |  April 4, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Dear Beth:
    I whole heartly agree. The mystery of privacy/secrecy I feel can someimes be intriguining, in the long run prolonging the excitment of the cohabititon. Pleasure delaying, if you will.
    Question Beth? What about snuggle time?

    Reply
  • 3. smalldogarific  |  April 4, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Dear Beth:

    I absolutely believe that a situation like that would end in resentment, mostly, myself resenting the other person’s hatred for small dogs. Those are words that should never be uttered in the same sentence! I can’t believe I just did.

    That is quite an interesting statistic you paraphrased. I wonder what percentage of homes will have Brady Bunch style adjoining bathrooms by the year 2015?

    And to you Joan,

    You bring up an interesting point about secrecy being somewhat intriguing. I believe when there’s nothing left to reveal or uncover about a person, a relationship fizzles out pretty quickly, in my experience at least.

    Best,
    Smalldogarific

    Reply
  • 4. Beth  |  April 5, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Smalldogarific-
    I agree. The person would go rather than my dog!

    Joan-
    Snuggle time, whether it be between person and small dog or person to person is an integral part of any relationship. Seperate bedrooms allow for this. To me they are more a refuge from a snoring partner or a place you can go to do work, read, check your e-mail at 2am whatever urge you may have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,168

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

