Here she comes, Miss Smalldogmerica!

February 16, 2007 at 10:46 am 1 comment

07042125950672_2.jpg
via Terrific Pets

My coworker and I were having a discussion about how we physically react to cute, small pups. To quote her, “i want to smash them with my love.” Amen! I think that’s the most accurate description. Does anyone else feel this way? Maybe we can start a support group?

There’s a Canine Excellence contest going on right now, though it’s only for “AKC registered or eligible for pedigree registry”. Whatever! Maybe I should start my own contest to celebrate small dogs of all kinds? Perhaps Miss Smalldogmerica will become a reality????

06291173518244_1.jpg

It looks like ConEd isn’t the only company who needs to get its act together. An electricity company in the UK, EDF, is under investigation after a dog was electrocuted by a live lamppost. Is it safe for small dogs to walk the streets anymore?

Today, I have a story of intrigue and heroism to share with you. Brenda is a modern day Molly Pitcher, saving pups by night and day. She wrote and told me, “Busta was just a little guy on a message board about one year ago…I called the shelter [in GA] and told them I would adopt him. I faxed the agreement and payment info, and was psyched. They didn’t want to hold him for me until Monday [it was Friday!] because they said that “puppies carry diseases.” I cried like a baby. The woman at the shelter, who must have thought I lost my marbles, told me to try calling a woman in GA that does rescue. I did and she saved his life, hence the name. We had 45 minutes to spare, before his euthanasia time. I was a mess…He was the only one to make it out that day, hence the name BUSTA.” After 2 weeks of “vetting, nursing a nasty kennel cough, which developed into pneumonia” eventually Busta got lined up with a sweet home in Massachusetts where he now lives with his mommies Kim and Barb.

busta.jpg

Sometimes I wish I had two adopted mommies in Massachusetts. Somewhere in the Berkshires would be splendid, thanks!

I’ll drink to that:

05359225108290_1.jpg

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:

Fire department saves dog from river

Walking the Dog: The Big Protest

A tutor with a tail Therapy dog builds reading confidence in students

Entry filed under: FEBRUARY 2007.

‘Cause you’re everywhere to me, And when I close my eyes it’s small dogs I see Well, I’ve been afraid of changing ’cause I built my life around you, but time makes you bolder, small dogs get older, I’m getting older too

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Strongie  |  February 17, 2007 at 12:37 am

    In answer to your question – when I see the little dogs, I want to pick them up and hug them. But forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,293

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

