The small dog doesn’t fall far from the tree

January 4, 2007 at 12:10 pm 2 comments

puppies.jpg

Loyal and astute smalldogarific reader Joan has posed another essential question. “How do you feel about cats?” While I am not prepared to make an official smalldogarific statement concerning my feelings about cats, I will say this, cats are no small dogs, or even large dogs, or wolves for that matter. Let me share a story…I recently moved, part of what motivated me to move was a feral cat that was living in my old apartment, he posed as any old domestic house cat, but oh no dear sir, I was onto his evil baby-smothering ways, he was a wild, untamed beast! One of my roommates at the time took in a stray that ended up being pregnant. Since it was the middle of the winter we couldn’t turn her back onto the cold hard streets of Brooklyn, so instead, she moved in. She was an affectionate and nice cat, as far as cats go, but I should have known something was terribly awry when she chose to give birth to a litter of 4 in the middle of my kitchen during a dinner party I was hosting. As we nibbled on bread and cheese we were moved by the miracle of cat life and each of us even commented on how the tiny runt with a white face was the cutest. As weeks passed, the cats were adopted and moved on, but white-face stuck behind and ended up being adopted by my roommate. People always claim that cats are clean and self-sufficient but white-face proved otherwise. I could have lived with the constant meowing, cat hair and need for love and affection but I drew the line at cat urine and feces, in the tub, on the floor, everywhere. I do not like them on a train, I do not like them in a box, I will not eat them with a fox, I do not like them in a house, I would not, could not, with a mouse. Not on a train. Not in a box. Not with a fox. Not in a house. Not with a mouse. Please note, I am talking about cat urine and feces here. I went away for the summer and received an email from my other roommate saying that the cat had shit in the drier. What a beast! I hope that answers your question Joan!

Oh, and as for magents.

bitcmagnetl.jpg

Bitch Magnet

Also, did anyone read yesterday’s Dog Lady column? In the new year, Martha has resolved to meet a guy. One of the most promising candidates has a Scottie but “since childhood, I’ve been afraid of small snarly dogs, but this guy must be proud of his dog because he poses with it on Match.com. I do like dogs, but I don’t like the looks of this one.” Shame on you Martha!

Today’s Small Dog Headlines:

Puppy Smuggling In Possible Decline, Group Says: SAN DIEGO — The number of puppies found being smuggled across the border between the U.S. and Mexico has dropped, NBC7/39 reported.

Terrier’s cross-country trek ‘a shock’: “When Daisy escaped from her home in Aurora last April, Vonda Lundstrom was sure her 2-year-old rat terrier would be back shortly, just like she had been several times before.”

Woman Adopts Her Dog’s Name To Buy Painkiller: “Farmington, MI (AHN) – A Burlington-based woman named Kymberly Smith has been charged with trying to get painkillers from a drug store by using her dog’s name Zack. Smith, 38, changed her name to Zack Smith, in an attempt to obtain Hydrocodone, which is marketed under several names including Vicodin.”

In Utah town, dog licenses few and far between: ” ALTA, Utah — Every January when dog licenses come up for renewal, dog lovers at this ski town go wild with anticipation, panting for a shot at the finite number up for grabs.”

Traveling dog catches the bus: “PORTLAND, Ore., Jan. 4 Animal services officials in Portland, Ore., are searching for the owner of a dog that hitched a ride on a city bus without his owner in tow.”

Woman, 80, saves pet dog from wild boar on Dartmoor: “An 80-year-old woman fought off three wild boar as they tried to savage her dachshund during a new year walk on Dartmoor. Rosemary Hamilton-Meikle told yesterday how she used her dog’s lead to frighten two of the wild pigs away and hit the third on the snout with it.”

Illinois reaches new level in placing homeless pets: “Illinois has achieved a milestone at Petfinder.com, the Web’s largest online database of homeless pets.”

Judge Rules Poodle Can Stay, Stay: “NEW HAVEN — A North Haven woman who relies on her dog for help with post traumatic stress will be allowed to take the pooch to court during the trial of her lawsuit seeking damages from the state and the driver of a car that crashed into her six years ago.”

Entry filed under: JANUARY 2007.

One Fish Two Fish Small Dog Blue Fish Thank God it’s small dog Friday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  January 5, 2007 at 12:50 am

    dear small–dog–a-r-fic,

    thank you for posting the cute picture of the dogs kissing. and for all of the other cute pictures of small dogs.

    small dog bless you.

    Reply
  • 2. Jeanne  |  January 7, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    your comments regarding the feline species are appreciated- i agree wholeheartedly. your nod to the stylings of dr. suess are equally appreciated. thanks for making me come close to spitting water out of my mouth with laughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I love small dogs times

  • 106,294

Recent Posts

I do my best to attribute info and photos to the appropriate sources. Please let me know if you have any corrections or comments. Feel free to contact me: smalldogarific@smalldogarific(dot)com

